Definitively worth a topic! Stacking can be one of the most confusing parts of dnd (and DDO too). IMO it would be a good idea to make a list of the different bonus types (e.g. deflection, shield, armor etc.). It's also important to work out the difference between "named" bonuses and "unnamed" bonuses and to list exceptions from the rule (dodge, circumstance, synergy(?)). A good site for reference is the "Rules of the game" section on the official wotc site: http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20040120a (Part 1-4)--Ziu 00:13, February 17, 2006 (PST)
"does it stack part 1" http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20040120a&pf=true 2 http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20040127a&pf=true 3 http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20040203a&pf=true 4 http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dnd/rg/20040210a&pf=true
I'll be back when I have more time to incorporate that into the article. -- koolkat 11:19, March 10, 2006 (EST)
Random stacking info
- Protection from evil stacks with the Paladin's Aura of good (from a contributor of the bard spells page) Tihocan 15:14, March 23, 2006 (EST)
I'm a newbie. I have a ring with strength +2 and boots with strength +3, and wanted to know if they would stack. I thought that the answer, via some ruling/whatever would be as simple as a "yes" or "no"... But after reading the article, I still can't figure it out!... I've been running in circles through referred articles regarding things that are not explained, looping back here... And I'm beginning to feel dizzy. Is this on purpose? Like another game when we don't play DDO? Come on guys, GET YOUR THINGS STRAIGHT, PEOPLE ARE NOT PAYING $$$$$$ TO BE TAKEN FOR SUCH FOOLS!!!
- 1- "Untyped bonuses stack."... What are "Untyped bonuses"? There's no link to whatever explanation.
- 2- Can someone give a clear answer to the above questioning (strength stacking) since I can't figure it out without a bottle of aspirin? Even if I assume that strength would be an Ability, the article isn't even clear if ability enchantments on items stack or not... wtf
While circling like in a mouse wheel on DDO Wiki, I've read at many places that this topic (stacking effects) was confusing.. Of course it is, when the Wiki explanation/documentation is itself (voluntarily ?) confusing, like some self-fulfilling prophecy! LOL.. I guess I'll just continue to check the char. panel instead on relying on such "documentation" (However that panel doesn't show it all) — previous comment by 184.108.40.206 (d | r | b ) at 21:28, September 18, 2019 (UTC)
- Those items do not stack. Because both add enhancement bonus to strength. If you actually read what's written on the item, it mentions Enhancement Bonus. For example, see Gauntlets of Ogre Power and read the description. Alternatively, open your character sheet (c) and your inventory (i). Unequip one of the items and check if/how your Strength changes. Yet another option for checking stacking, check the chat log when you equip a new piece of equipment. It'll say stuff like "You have multiple items that provide an enhancement bonus to Strength". Then you know you have some overlapping gear. If you check the article Strength, it shows a list various bonuses and usually also explains how it stacks. --Cru121 (Contributions • Message) 10:55, July 15, 2014 (EDT)